Hi guys, here's my problem:

I've been playing seriously for about three years now and I know scales and modes. The problem is when I apply it on a chord progression that my band mates jam to, It... sucks. I try to speed up and slow my playing to help but something still feels off about it.

I can play tabbed out songs fine but when I'm just jamming or getting into the groove, I just can't cope up with my band mates. When I asked my guitarist friend about it, he said that I needed to "feel the music." I don't know how to do that.

Please help me guys! Thanks!
You don't need to "feel the music", that's just hippy bullshit.

You need to listen to the music, listen to what you're playing over and figure out what's going to sound good over it. If you're primarily approaching it in terms of what pattern or shape to play, where to put your fingers then you're not really improvising.
Actually called Mark!

Quote by TNfootballfan62
People with a duck for their avatar always give good advice.

...it's a seagull

Quote by Dave_Mc
i wanna see a clip of a recto buying some groceries.

stuffmycatswatchontv.tumblr.com
Put your guitar down and start to imagine solos and lines. Then start playing the rhythm part and start to image your lead lines. Then start to actually play those lines you have in your head.

You should become able to truly improvise when you practise this, thinking about what your going to play next while you're already playing the current part coming out of your head.
Oi! Me dog Sally needs to drop:

|-4---|
|-5---|
If you're primarily approaching it in terms of what pattern or shape to play, where to put your fingers then you're not really improvising.

Put your guitar down and start to imagine solos and lines. Then start playing the rhythm part and start to image your lead lines. Then start to actually play those lines you have in your head.