Hi UG,

I have been playing for about 4 years now and I'm starting to feel more confident in my playing style but, I am worried that I am picking the strings wrong. When playing normal rhythm guitar, I play normal downstrokes unless fast and then I alternate but, when I am doing things like solo's I realise that sometimes, when I move to a different string, I will strike up with the pick. My guitar teacher always tells me to begin on each string with a downstroke. I just find it more comfortable when playing upstrokes sometimes, and it helps me play faster. Is this a problem or should I feel OK with playing like this? Is this kind of picking called enonomy picking or is that a different thing? If it is, can you tell me what it is (if you know)?

Thanks alot
Laney VH100R, Randall KH 4x12 cab, Harley Benton G212V, ESP LTD EC-1000, Jackson Demmelition King V, LTD KH-602, Tanglewood TW170, LTD EX-50, Squire Strat, Zakk Wylde wah, EHX Small Clone, Blackstar HT-5H
i've only heard of starting on every new string with a downstroke in gypsy jazz guitar...

economy picking is when you sort of sweep your way to a new string, if the picking pattern allows for it. this can be done with the three notes per string pattern going up or down.

are you sure your teacher knows what he's talking about?
Quote by archerygenious
Jesus Christ since when is the Pit a ****ing courtroom...

Like melodic, black, death, symphonic, and/or avant-garde metal? Want to collaborate? Message me!
Quote by vIsIbleNoIsE
i've only heard of starting on every new string with a downstroke in gypsy jazz guitar...

economy picking is when you sort of sweep your way to a new string, if the picking pattern allows for it. this can be done with the three notes per string pattern going up or down.

are you sure your teacher knows what he's talking about?