So I've been playing guitar for about 4 years now and I think I want to buy a bass. I don't want to be a fulltime bassist, I just want something to keep me busy when I get bored with guitar.

I don't want a total begginner bass like a squier or anything but I don't want a really high end bass. I want something around the $500 price range. Something that's not totally expensive, but good enough quality to last me a while so I won't have to buy another bass.

I was looking at the new Jackson JS Concert basses ( link ) and was wondering if they were any good.

I was also looking at some of the Ibanez SR basses ( link )

And if all else fails I was thinking about getting a regular Fender P bass.

Are any of these good choices? I don't want something too expensive but I don't want a piece of shit. I play mostly rock (cky, guns n roses, cage the elephant, red hot chilli peppers), grunge (nirvana, alice in chains, pearl jam, soundgarden,) and some metal (megadeth, black sabbath, pantera) So I want something that's a little versatile.

Also my friend says that you can play bass through your guitar amp and as long as you keep the volume low it should be fine. I have a 60W Line 6 Spider II, should it be fine? I plan on getting a bass amp eventually just in case because I don't want to ruin my amp but should it be fine for a few months until I get one?

Hope I gave you guys enough info.
Don't play your bass through a guitar amp, bad things will surely follow.
Quote by purplehaze2242
Also my friend says that you can play bass through your guitar amp and as long as you keep the volume low it should be fine. I have a 60W Line 6 Spider II, should it be fine? I plan on getting a bass amp eventually just in case because I don't want to ruin my amp but should it be fine for a few months until I get one?