Hey everyone! What a great site this is!

And what great decission to begin playing guitar!
Ive been playing on and off now for about 2 years and ive learned some fingerstyle
blues songs from Mississippi john hurt and som Lightnin hopkins style etc.
Only very basic stuff.

Now recently i got myself an electric guitar and i started practicing scales and licks and stuff like that.

The thing is. I dont think i ever quite understood what scales i can play when?

Lets say for an example an E blues.
What scales can i play? I heard that i can play any major scale over it?
Some just sounds weird imo?

And what about the minor scales?
What are they for? and when?

etc. etc :P

I hope you can help me see the light on this one!
-Remmo
Quote by Remmo87
Hey everyone! What a great site this is!

And what great decission to begin playing guitar!
Ive been playing on and off now for about 2 years and ive learned some fingerstyle
blues songs from Mississippi john hurt and som Lightnin hopkins style etc.
Only very basic stuff.

Now recently i got myself an electric guitar and i started practicing scales and licks and stuff like that.

etc. etc :P

I hope you can help me see the light on this one!
-Remmo

You should start off with the E blues scale (that's an E minor pentatonic scale with a Bb added). That's the most basic scale to use over it.
Thanks for the answer.

Anyone able to go a little bit deeper into my question though?
Give a noobie (me) some basic music theory
Last edited by Remmo87 at Sep 5, 2011,
Quote by Remmo87

You should play the scale that relates to the key (key of E, major scale of E), at least when starting out.

That is because you cannot play certain major scales over E at all, they will sound terrible, you are best starting off with the E blues scale.