I really want to start reading books about music theory(i play guitar) and music history.

Any suggestions?

Ive found a couple books on Amazon:

Music history

Music Theory

http://www.amazon.com/Music-Theory-Guitarists-Everything-Wanted/dp/063406651X/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1315304347&sr=1-1

And a couple of more questions:

What are your book suggestions? Would you recommend these books to me or anyone else? Considering im a guitarist, i should be reading guitar theory books? How a guitar theory book can be any different from a normal theory book?

Thanks in advance.
You could try Tom Kolb's Music Theory for Guitarists, it is very good and what I am currently working with.
Guitars:
Ibanez RGR321EX
Schecter Omen 7 (with Dimarzio D-Sonic in bridge and Air Norton in neck)
Effects:
Tokai TFL-1 Flanger
Boss RGE-10 Graphic EQ
Ibanez DE7 Delay/Echo
Boss TU-2 Tuner
Amp:
Laney IronHeart IRT60 212
Well there's not really a "guitar theory book".

There are books that show jazz and classical theory applied on guitar, but that's 50/50ish kind of stuff.

A nice intermediate - advanced book would be Mark Levine's Jazz theory book.

I myself learned most theory from the internet and these forum's and friends, but I also picked stuff out from books.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
Last edited by xxdarrenxx at Sep 6, 2011,
I see.

Im looking for the basics now, such as scales and keys and what do they mean(in guitar) should i therefore take a guitar theory book, or any theory applies?
Quote by Pettah
I like how the first post recommends a theory book for guitar, and the second post claims they doesnt exist x)

I meant that guitar doesn't have it's own music theory. It's all the same, hence why I said that.

This was in reference to this line in the original post:
How a guitar theory book can be any different from a normal theory book?