Hello, I am kind of new to recording. I have been recording using my RP150 guitar pdeal which plugs straight into the computer via USB and I use audacity to record my tracks (Also I do this with the bass guitar and I use a Drum Machine on my computer for the drums).

In the next few months I will be buying a electric drum kit and I also want to start getting some better recording equipment so that I can make better quality recordings.

I do not know very much about recording. I know that you can get different types of mics for different things and you can get a "sound card" or something? Although I have no idea what they are. Also I know you can mixing desks but i have no idea what they are used for either.

So, Basicly I just want to know what people think I should get, I need to be recording my Acoustic guitar, Electric guitars, vocals, electric drum kit and my bass guitar. My budget is not great (I earn £160-£200 a month) so It may take a while, but I want to get some stuff that will be good quality.

So if anyone knows what I should get, that'd be great! also If some people could give me an insight on what to look for in mics and stuff...

-Thanks for help.
Same problem for me. I get rubbish guitar tones from my setup and want to upgrade without spending a fortune. I do have an SM58 as a startign point so its not all bad. My desk is a Behringer with a USB interface into Audacity, none of which was expensive. Not sure if its my mic'ing technique thats poor but it all sounds boxey and thin. EQ doesnt help much.
If you're looking to do it cheaply, check eBay for 2nd hand digital multitrackers. They'll provide you with an all-in-one solution which is more than enough for most home recording setups.