I'm not sure if this is where I should post this but anyway. I've been fooling around with the guitar for 3 or 4 months now and I've decided to get more serious with it, but i have no clue where to begin. I mostly down pick, but its fast enough to play songs like, the darkest nights, like like to flies, stuff like that. I can tremolo pick and do taps decently, I can't alternate pick worth a dime. So any suggestions on where I should start?
The White Stripes and a metronome? Guitar Pro 6 helps too--the built in metronome sux but you can build your own metronome track with the woodblocks.
Start slow, speed up very gradually.

Also: if you can't alternate pick then you can't tremolo pick, or at least not well. Tremolo picking is just alternate picking. They are physically exactly the same thing.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo
“A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.”

Album.
Legion.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Start slow, speed up very gradually.

Also: if you can't alternate pick then you can't tremolo pick, or at least not well. Tremolo picking is just alternate picking. They are physically exactly the same thing.

Ah sorry let me correct myself, I can tremolo pick medium to fast speeds, but I have a short pause in between strings, don't know why its difficult for me to alternate pick though. Umm an example would be playing something like "like light to flies" opening, I can't alternate pick the opens as fast i could if I just down pick. If any of that makes sense.