Hi guys,

I'm looking to upgrade my bass but I'm not very experienced at this.
The list of things I want to upgrade:

-pickups
-bridge

I'd also like a new preamp. There's an experienced and respected luthier where I live who'll be doing the modding. I'd like to make my bass active but if you have great passive alternatives let me know. I'm not on a budget but it would be nice if you could recommend me some gear that's not too expensive just to see what my options are.

The sound I want from the pickups is a fat, beefy sound but with that Jazz Bass growl we all love. I play all kinds of music (ranging from jazz to alternative-rock to metalcore)
so it would be nice if the pickups/preamp are very versatile.

All recommendations/advice are/is much appreciated!
Basses:
Ibanez ARTB-100 (white)
Fender Standard Jazz (black)
Amp:
Peavey MK VI
For pickups I would suggest these http://www.bartolini.net/information/bass/4st_bass_pu_s.htm I have a mate running a Jazz with these and it's got that nice nasty bass sound, without losing the jazz growl. The other ones I would suggest would be the Seymour Duncan J quarter pounder in the neck and a vintage somethignorrather in the bridge, or a set of fender noiseless.

Bridge, get one of those badass II bridges everyone talks about, they're fantastic, Hipshot (or gotoh, ones of the two) do some good bridges, particularly ones with piezo pickups if you're into that?

another two things, upgrade your nut, $5-15 for a new nut, will make a world of difference, also a D-tuner could be an interesting but, if you use Drop D and standard on and off alot
I just sold my 3rd attemt at liking a Fender Jazz bass. It sounded great, but i just can't get into them. I upgraded the pups to some Fender Vintage 60 RIs, and the bridge was upgraded to a BadAss II.

On a better note... i finally found my perfect JJ setup... and it's an SX shortscale Jag