Like how many of you work out or are bigger? I'm incredibly fast and have stamina but I'm not sure because of how scrawny I am if it inhibits me. I'm just curious to how it is for other drummers out there.
Well I have been playing drums for 4 years. I would say that I am definately on the fit side, I have abs and I have pretty good stamina. Also one thing I notice is that my right arm (the arm I use the most when drumming) is more toned and muscular than my left. So drumming does help you stay fit, I heard somewhere that drummers burn about 500 calories an hour.
I've never been particularly fit, though I've always fairly thin.
I'm less fit now than I've ever been though, due to smoking and drinking, and my kit being at my singer's house for the last God knows how many months.
I only get to play drums one or two times a week these days
Time to invest in a second kit methinks
I'm not fit at all. I'm sick more often than not and I only eat 1 or 2 meals a week which makes me very physically weak. With the proper technique drumming doesn't take a lot of energy. Unless you spend several minutes at a time doing double bass rolls then you don't have to be fit. You just have to set your kit up so that you don't have to reach a long way for anything and then use a good bass pedal that doesn't zap your energy.
Not taking any online orders.
I play almost everyday, but I also push carts at walmart, so I'm not sure if the drumming helps with me being in shape.
I've been playing for about 20 years.... Progressively getting out of shape and still have no problems playing, even after a back surgery. You don't have to be fit, proper technique is crucial.
I love all 5 (sold a couple) of my Carvin X-100b's.
yep i agree, you dont have to look like an MMA fighter. proper technique is key. TS ylu say you're already pretty fast and have good stamina so it sounds like you're doing it right.