I always wondered if i had small say 15 watt amp. with a microphone (to a big speaker) to make it louder,
would it be any different to if i had a bigger amp. with no microphone??? and would the quality be better on the bigger one?
I am NOT experienced with this, not completely anyway. I've never tried Mic'ing a sound from a small amp to go through a big speaker, But i just have a feeling that having an actual amp ( the bigger one you talkin about) would sound much better than both the 15 watt and mic setup... combined.
When you are playing live, whether your amp is big or small, it is always better to put everything through the pa so the mix is good and the audience hears the same thing from different positions.
Quote by StevenBoal
I always wondered if i had small say 15 watt amp. with a microphone (to a big speaker) to make it louder,
would it be any different to if i had a bigger amp. with no microphone??? and would the quality be better on the bigger one?

seriously?

ok <takes deep breath>

by bigger do you mean more watts?

if so, the answer to your question depends on a lot of things.

-there are 15w amps out there that will blow a 100w amp away mic'd or not mic'd
-there are 100w amps out there that will suck compared to other amps even if mic'd

as an example

i mean, it depends a lot on the type of music, gigging situation, amps, chain, etc
maybe

I'm just saying I'd rather have 15w Fender Blues Jr over a 100w Fender Frontman.

Or a Marshall Class 5 over a Marshall MG50FX.

but yeah, a 15w amp mic'd for metal playing may not sound as good in the end as a 100w amp unmic'd for metal playing. Normally, all things being equal you want more watts for a genre like metal - and less watts for a genre like blues or punk. (major generalizations there)

so....the OP needs to be cleaned up as to what the real question is