Poll: Le Question
Poll Options
View poll results: Le Question
Learn as many instruments as you can.
18 62%
Pick one and master it.
11 38%
Voters: 29.
Do you think it is important to learn as many instruments as you can, or pick one and master it?
For example: I've been playing guitar for almost two years, and I've gotten a lot better over the summer. Then I found my brother's old bass and ukulele and learned a few simple songs. Began to learn piano in my music course at school that started last week, and just today I found my trumpet that I played in the 4th grade for a whole 2 weeks and began to play that. I feel like all of this is transferring over into my guitar playing, writing and playing(that shitty bass really strengthened my fingers )

What's your opinion?
I like playing multiple instruments, and I'm not a master of any. Not even close. It depends on he person.
Learn stuff on the other instruments then apply it to the guitar. Seriously, I transcribe piano and saxophone riffs onto guitar. Do it.
you're a stone fox
As someone who's doesn't give a shit about how difficult it is to play a song, I say learn as many instruments as you're interested. But if you like technical music, then you're probably better off with just one.
Last edited by 37 Narwhals at Sep 9, 2011,
As the cockatoo above me says, it depends on the person. personally I also really like playing several instruments, and am certainly not anywhere virtuosic on any of them.
some instruments have shared concepts or playing styles, playing piano's quite similar to guitar in some ways and both complement each other in terms of finger independance/strentgh
Quote by ErikLensherr
It's threads like this that separate grammar Nazis from only mildly anti-Semitic grammar conservatives.
You have a shit thread title, i thought you were going to ask how to be witty.