Hey,
I'm 13 years old and I've been playing guitar for 1 1/2 years now.
But as of lately I've been having problem's.
You see, ever since this drummer I know told me about his band (Rise to remain who were on the cover of this weeks kerrang) I've turned to metal/metalcore A LOT more.
But at the moment I have a standard fender squire beginners guitar which I've had since I started guitar.
But now I want to do metalcore/metal I'm struggling to be able to do the riffs for numerous reasons a)I'ts an old guitar anyway so its pickups are starting to slack b)The strings are just becoming shit within a week of putting them on, and c)I cant reach a lot of the skips from 8 - 13 for example.
I was wondering what i could do with my problem of having small hands and wanting to play metal.
I know you can get the 3/4 length guitars but honestly, I see 8 year old's with 3/4 length guitars and I'd look a bit stupid on stage with my band at school and holding a small guitar.
Ideally I want a guitar with a smaller neck and less space in between frets.
Thanks a lot.
Josh.
You can get short scales.

Fender make a few, like the jaguar, mustang etc.

Theyre far from metal. Though.

Strats/teles have a 25.5" scale length, fender short scales are 24", most les paul/gibson type guitars are 24.75". So there isnt that much difference.

Im a girl, my hands are pretty small, i can reach 1 - 5 on the low e string on my tele/jackson, and 1-6 on my jaguar. Your problem is mostly due to lack of practice and strength in your hands. Something with a slimmer neck profile will make it easier, and a better guitar overall will improve your playing. But youre still gunna grow dude, so get something that will last.
Last edited by beckyjc at Sep 11, 2011,
A: Tighten them up witha screwdriver.
B: Use Elixer strings, they last a bit longer.
C: If you play well enough with it then it doesn't matter what size it is (lol at the innuendo).