I'll spare you the details of the story and keep this short. I have been playing with this guy for 4 months. (hes 20 years older than me) When I first met him, he just had quit his band and took most of the former members with him. He recruited an amazing singer too.

The singer has only showed up to one practice, and now may be deserting us.since the beginning, its just been me and the guitarist sitting in a crowded apartment riffing out songs, none of the others are involved yet. I have a decent recording setup on my pc, so i've been recording/producing all of our music too. I'm starting to think i might be able to have more musical freedom working by myself. Theres also quite a divide in playing ability between him and I. I'm starting to feel like i'm giving lessons.

My question is: How do I break the news to him politely? since we'll most likely be playing shows in the same area, i don't want to attract a bad reputation within the local scene. He's a real nice guy so I might even consider playing with him again one day, but right now id rather work on my own project.

any advice would be helpful
Just say, "Hey man, I'd like to talk for a minute" and then explain your reasoning, say it's been a great time playing, recording, etc with him and all that stuff. That's all you can do unless you want to send him flowers too.
cant you do both at the same time? your own project and his project?
Internet trolls are like sap in trees. sticky and annoying, but good on pancakes.
Quote by severed-metal
Just say, "Hey man, I'd like to talk for a minute" and then explain your reasoning, say it's been a great time playing, recording, etc with him and all that stuff. That's all you can do unless you want to send him flowers too.
This sounds like the reasonable path to go down. Maybe do it outside of practice, perhaps over lunch. That, and act really sincere.
Quote by severed-metal