I've been playing guitar for 10 ten years and this is my honest opinion. If you disagree thats fine with me. What works for one person doesn't always work for someone else.

Sometimes when I play with a pick I can get into a good rhythm and really enjoy it other times its frustrating and makes everything sound real tinny and choppy. I hate that.

When I play with my fingers I feel much more relaxed and in control. I also play simpler stuff and I enjoy it better. The tone sounds way better. This is for acoustic stuff.

So if your struggling with tone and control and your playing with a pick throw that mother fudger out the window and play with your thumb and fingers. There will be some things you wont be able to play but man maybe you dont need them.

And dont worry about your dexterity or speed youve got to crawl before you walk. I've found that I've been slowly becoming more and more comfortable with fingers each and every day. I also explore the guitar in a different way.

Just my two cents. Thought Id help somebody out cause I sure as heck need some help myself.

Love be the but it wont get me
Yeah i just dont use a pick in general. But it is necesary to play van halen imo but ive found that u can play most music without one. A good example of a song u can learn easily without a pick is either scar tissue by rhcp or try lou bergs/penatrate time from frusciantes solo career
I totally agree that sometimes you just go through a phase where you suck with a pick. Also there are some tones I can only get with my hands and not a pick. My personal favorite is a really bassy/ballsey kind of popping sound out of the strings when I hit em hard with my index fingernail.

It's always good to switch things up once in a while.