Hey there,

So I'm starting uni soon and I can't really take amps down. But I'd like to have a guitar+bass with me. What would the most practical solution be? I was thinking multifx into laptop? But I don't know where to start there. I'd also like to practice/gig when I'm there but I guess I'll have to borrow amps. Budget would depend on the solution, as a student I wont have much cash so the cheaper the better.

Also I'd like to change the valves and speaker in my laney. At the moment it's very fizzy and overly bright with my strat yet muddy with the hamer. Also, most of the gain is unusably fuzzy. I'm not after much gain, just a smoother tone and more clarity. Any recommendations?

I was looking at a full set of JJs (pre+power amp) to tame the brightness and a celestion classic lead 80 based on other people saying it's a good match. Any help here is much appreciated. My budget is maybe £150.

Cheers
Don't bother with Multi-Fx. Just get an amp simulation programme. If you buy a Line 6 interface, it comes with PodFarm. It's a pretty sweet programme and will be more than adequate for what you want.
JJ's are great tubes, go for 'em.
Amps:
Mesa Boogie Rect-O-Verb
Laney VC15
Cabs:
2x Blackheart 1x12
Guitar:
PRS SE Soapbar II
Pedalboard:
Line 6 M13, Zvex Fuzz Factory, Digitech Synth Wah, Boss SD-1, Biyang OD-8 (Tubescreamer Clone)
Band:
Fixtures <<Click Here
I'm really a noob when it comes to this kinda thing...so what exactly do I need to get and how would it sound if I used it for bass? Also I'd need some decent headphones I assume? And would this let me get some decent recorded tones?

EDIT: Since I'm not bothered about having much amp gain (it never goes past half atm) would there be any advantage to using something like a 12AT7?
Last edited by ProgFolk12 at Sep 13, 2011,
I highly suggest POD Farm for university/college. I used it for the last 2 years of school and I might have killed a few small animals if I didn't have it.