so i'm going to change my strings myself (i've never done it before). I've got an epi les paul and I play mostly rythem, lots of chords and indie kind of music. What shall I buy? Gauge etc. It's so confusing.
have you ever changed strings before on this guitar? I mean are they the stock strings? If so 10's are probably your best bet. Look up youtube videos on how to do it, I'm sure you'll find them. Just makes sure you are patient and make it so all the strings tune up in the same direction

As for brand, it's really up to you
Quote by EndTheRapture51
Anyway I have technically statutory raped #nice

Quote by EndThecRinge51
once a girl and i promised to never leave each other

since that promise was broken

i dont make promises any more
I like D'Addario 10's.... but there are a lot of strings I haven't tried. Try some and develop your own opinion.
Ernie Ball's are my personal favorite. I like the Super Slinky's (the Pink package) but you may like the Regular Slinky's (Yellow package) better. They're a little heavier gauge. 10's as opposed to 9's. Changing strings is a pain the first few times but you'll get better the more times you do it. I kind of enjoy it now as it gives the guitar a great feel and sound. Don't be afraid to try new ones either. It's like a $5 investment and if you hate it, it's not a big deal to change. It's one of the easier components of guitar modification to play around with. Good luck!
Quote by SWilson
Try some and develop your own opinion.

This.
I've been playing for 6 years, and I'm STILL experimenting with different string types. Just buy a plethora and each time you restring, try a different type. Just keep track of what you like/hate about each type.
I've got my Strat set up with Skinny Top Heavy Bottom Slinkies but for a guitar where you're replacing stock strings I'd get .10s.
Quote by hellybelly