What are the advantages of owning/learning bass? I have been playing guitar for around 2 years and am fairly good at it so i have been looking at getting a cheap bass guitar. However, i am unsure if this is a good idea, having spent some time on a few basses i found them limiting so i would have to go for a 5-string, which sadly raises the price considerably. Is it worth the investment for me? Alternativly i'll put the money towards a new amp

I have looked at the follwing basses, which is least awful?
http://www.woodbrass.com/en/squier-electric-bass-affinity-series-jazz-bass-v-5-strings-black-p26927-af833.html squier affinity 5

http://www.guitarandampshop.co.uk/acatalog/Stagg_BC300_5-BK_5_String_Electric_Bass_Guitar_Black.html Stagg 5string(my current fav cos it has 24 frets and looks nicer than the others

http://www.gak.co.uk/en/peavey-milestone-5-burgundy-red/17471

i play whatever i'm physically able to and my budget is £150 absolute max
Quote by ErikLensherr
It's threads like this that separate grammar Nazis from only mildly anti-Semitic grammar conservatives.
Last edited by teh_goon at Sep 13, 2011,
With a budget of 150 you could easily find a used Squier VM Jazz. Those things rock (literally).
...it was bright as the sun, but with ten times the heat
Quote by teh_goon
What are the advantages of owning/learning bass?

The advantage of learning to play the bass would be that you know how to play the bass. Whether or not its your primary instrument, learning to play it and really appreciate and get involved with it helps to broaden your horizons and will just make you a better, more well-rounded musician.

Whether or not its worth it is entirely up to you. Do you want to learn to play bass? If yes, then it should be worth it. You can't really learn to play bass without a bass.

And out of the 3 basses you listed, I'd put my vote in for the Peavey Milestone.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
^ +1

Affinity's and Stagg in general are no-no.