So recently i have decided to pick up a bass and start playing, i've been playing guitar for 5 years now, and the whole reason i started to play guitar is because i first wanted to play bass... and now i have decided to play both... the question is, being that i still will be playing guitar alot more than the bass, what out there can i get that has a good sound but is still fairly cheap?

my friend says a starter pack is crap... which i can agree with, i started on a starter pack for guitar and found it to be much better after getting some nice gear... but i dont want to invest a buttload of money into something i dont have any intent on going full out on... just really using it for recording and also to get good at over time...

so should it be a starter pack or a cheaper amp and cheaper bass? send me links to what you would get and i'd like to keep it under $500 for both the amp and the bass combined if you can please thanks!
Quote by dwarf134
wait what? you lost me rofl.

what he meant was that your post was too long and he didn't read it and to answer the thread title, what you need is a bass haha. what styles of music do you need the bass for?
periphery/bulb!

gear:
Ibanez RG7321 w/ D-sonic in bridge

Peavey 5150 mk ii & b52 4x12 cab

line 6 podxt for recording

Quote by AsOneIStand
Head and Cab for $130? You don't need a head and cabinet, you need a psychological examination.
i would use it for almost every kind of music... im looking at a squier affinity series p bass... and after hearing it in a couple of youtube videos it sounds alright, so i think it might be an option, but im clueless with amps... lol.
Definitely get a step up from the affinity series those suck. Stick with squier though, they make some of the best low end basses.

For an amp, I'd go with acoustic.

If you want something loud enough to to jam with friends or maybe a small venue:
http://www.guitarcenter.com/Acoustic-B100-100W-1x15-Bass-Combo-104813779-i1399998.gc