Ive been playing classical guitar for many years. I recently bought a new steel string acoustic and im loving it. The only problem I seem to be encountering is my nails either keep snapping or filling down when I either pick or strum.

I was looking into finger picks, but id rather not... Are there any good nail strengtheners you guys swear by?

Thanks!
Most of the important things

in the world have been accomplished

by people who have kept on

trying when there seemed to be no hope at all
i'm actually interested to hear opinions as well. my nails are weak as shit. i use nail hardener, but it really doesn't do anything other than peel off after a couple of days.
Sally's hard as nails is kind of a standard but IF POSSIBLE there isstuff in the same section of the store with a cross on it. I can't remember the name but it supposed to be vitamins for your nails that goes on like nail polish. There is a bottle with a yellow cross, one with a red cross, and I think one with a blue cross. They each do different things for your nails but you have to keep using them for a few months for you to actually see a difference.
I oil my nails about 3 times a day whenever I'm sitting and reading or watching the TV.

Your nails are made up as the same stuff as your hair, so like your hair they can get dry and brittle. You wash your hands many times a day, and imagine if your hair got washed 8 times a day with shampoo it would be dry and weak. So do your nails.

I put on some sunflower oil all over the whole nail and underneath them (if they're long enough) and it really helps. They don't get half as much as worn down or broken as they used to.
Fuck the system - Use non-standard tunings!

"Now the guitar is no more than a cowbell, so easy to play, that there is no stable lad who is not a musician on the guitar" Inquisitor Covarrubias 1611
Update on my Oiling my nails: