First of all i'm a huge theory noob as you may have guessed by the thread title

It's not until just now that i hear a solo that inspires me to want to learn theory. I'm sure there's a lot of theory behind it and these are the kinds of solos i dream of writing in the future.
I'd have to say it's been a long time since i heard a solo i like so much

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TyG5dhRh8RU&feature=related

Solo at 2:15
The's guys play in drop C or B. So it's just the natural minor scale of C or D. Nothing special
Quote by blazing riff
The's guys play in drop C or B. So it's just the natural minor scale of C or D. Nothing special

Drop A# for this particular song. Most their songs i'd say are now Drop A# with some Drop B.
Can someone tell how they know this?

Do you just have a feel for the interval spaces between the minor and major scale and can just say "that's an X minor scale by sound but I don't know the root note"?
It's spelled wiener.
Quote by blazing riff

Serious missed steps in your thought process there or you gave an abridged version of how you came to that conclusion.

At any rate, it sounds like B minor to me. Couldn't by chance, y'know, post a tab or...?

Edit: Or A# minor when i play a guitar that isn't tuned a half step down
The UG Awards exist only to instill me with existential doubt.

For me, the 60's ended that day in 1978...

Willies. Fuck the lick and fuck you too.
Last edited by TheBurningFish at Sep 15, 2011,
Quote by TheBurningFish
At any rate, it sounds like B minor to me. Couldn't by chance, y'know, post a tab or...?

There you go. Played in Drop A#.
Those notes all appear to correspond to F minor, or A# minor. I'm guessing that if the rhythm is chugging open A#'s then it'll be A# minor.

Quote by TheBurningFish
Those notes all appear to correspond to F minor, or A# minor. I'm guessing that if the rhythm is chugging open A#'s then it'll be A# minor.

You know the rhythm without even looking