i have an old aria strat which i barely use anymore because i upgraded to a fender tele 2 years ago. i like the way the aria plays because i am so used to it, and it doesn't sound too bad either. but i dont like the neck on it that much. i found a used fender strat neck on gumtree for only £50:
http://www.gumtree.com/p/for-sale/aged-fender-strat-neck/88159174

how hard would it be to replace the neck? ive heard of different measurements and stuff but im not good with all the technical ins and outs of a guitar. could i literally get the neck and unscrew the neck plate and just whack the new one on? i don't have enough money atm to buy an actual strat btw ha.

cheers
Best case scenario is that all the dimensions are the same and all you have to do is unbolt the old neck and bolt in the new one.

Not likely to be that lucky.

If any dimensions are different then you'll need to remove wood as required to get a match. Sounds like a fun project if you're into that.

This might be a better project to do with another guitar body you're not emotionally attached to. Because you could really screw up the Aria.

I'd be surprised if a luthier would take this on for less than a decent Squier Strat would cost you.
im not too attached to the aria, sort of a backup guitar. i need it to play just incase. i cant afford to **** it up. ive asked for measurements from the seller, how would i go about measuring my neck? if they dont match would i take wood off from the body or the new neck? sorry for all the questions
No problem; that's what we're here for.

First off, a lot of the Arias I've seen have been 22 fret necks, but the Fender neck you're considering looks like 21?

I'm not a luthier, so I'd better not lead you astray with possible bad info on the dimensions.

For example, I don't know how to tell if it's the right height--different neck radiuses could have an effect and I don't know the standard place to measure to factor that out.