Hey guys I have been playing seriously for about a year now and am mostly self-taught, so I'm sure that I am doing a whole mess of things wrong. Which is why I am here. Just had some questions that I'm wondering if more experienced players can help me with.

A) My picking sucks. The way I naturally hold and strum is something close to flat picking and it doesn't really help speed or accuracy. Is it better to hit the strings with the pick at an angle so to decrease surface area on the strike?

B) When I fret a string and release there is often a residual sound almost like its a pull-off. My guitar has a good set up and the action isn't high at all so I really have no clue how to correct this.

C) Now to the one that really makes me feel like a newb is the fact that I have a hard time with chords. I make sure the correct strings are fretted, and that I'm not touching ones that don't need to be (I have fat hands) but it often just doesn't sound right.

Any advice you can give is much appreciated. Thank you all for your time.
Quote by Tliggz
Hey guys I have been playing seriously for about a year now and am mostly self-taught, so I'm sure that I am doing a whole mess of things wrong. Which is why I am here. Just had some questions that I'm wondering if more experienced players can help me with.

A) My picking sucks. The way I naturally hold and strum is something close to flat picking and it doesn't really help speed or accuracy. Is it better to hit the strings with the pick at an angle so to decrease surface area on the strike?

B) When I fret a string and release there is often a residual sound almost like its a pull-off. My guitar has a good set up and the action isn't high at all so I really have no clue how to correct this.