I want to learn how to play the guitar, so I have been going to guitar center by our house. I have been there three times already. Two times by myself, and once with my cousin, who is a professional musician. After searching around the store and searching on amazon.com, I have nailed it down to the fender dg60 and the Fender fa135ce. Both are about the same price, except one is an acoustic (the dg60) and the other is an acoustic electric (fa135ce). For the money, my guess is the acoustic electric would be the better choice since if I do eventually get good, I wouldn’t have to buy another guitar to be able to plug it into an amp (and it has a cutaway). But then, I read somewhere online that acoustic electrics could malfunction because of all of the components that go into making the guitar an acoustic/electric. First of all, is this true? And since I am a beginner, is it worth it to invest in a acoustic electric, or should I stick with the acoustic (dg60)? Since I am a beginner, both guitars sounded relatively the same.

Also, I noticed Amazon, sells the guitars at a bit of a lower price with free shipping (and no taxes!). Is there a danger to have a guitar shipped to me?
these are both entry level guitars. if you get good, you're going to want to step up to a guitar that sounds better and has better build quality - a solid top, at least. if you want to play through an amp, or hope to learn to play those very high notes, get the acoustic electric. sure, the electronics could malfunction, although that's not as common as you might think. and even if they do, you can get them fixed, and in the meantime at least the guitar will still play acoustically.

btw, a lot of very good players never get an acoustic electric - they have their guitar mic'ed when they're on stage. still, if you want to plug in to play with friends, an acoustic electric could come in handy.
Quote by Skeet UK