Hi guys, how are you? I've been playing guitar for a year and 9 months and I love rock and metal music. I feel like I'm stuck because no matter how much I keep on going I can't get to play any "decent" solo well. I can play easy guitar rythim like Holy Diver(Dio), T.N.T. (AC/DC), Highway to Hell(AC/DC), Molinos de Viento (Mago de Oz), Heaven and Hell (Black Sabbath), Bible Black (Heaven & Hell), Braving Flag (Galneryus), Run To The Hills (Iron Maiden), The Number of the Beast (Iron Maiden), Smoke On The Water (Deep Purple) ETC ETC.
When it comes to small solos I can play things like the one from Smells Like Teen Spirit (Nirvana), Hunting High and Low (Stratovarius), Bohemian Rhapsody (Queen), Seven Nation Army (The White Stripes) and Are You Gonna Be My Girl (Jet). You know, small easy solos.
About instrumentals, I am a HUGE fan of Paul Gilbert and well... I can't really play any song of his xD But I can play Mount Fuji Christmas without the solo perfectly and also Moon Over the Castle without the solo from Gran Turismo.

My gear is a Squier strato with a Peavy rage 158 and I bought the Metal Muff distortion pedal to get something more pure and better.

The thing is that I want to be able to play some AC/DC solos and harder songs, Van Halen songs, Aerosmith songs, etc in order to change my gear for something better (I was thinking about an Ibanez). So... you think that by the time I've been playing guitar I'm in a bad shape, normal, or really good? would it be too soon to change the gear? any song good for practice recommendation? help with solos?

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!
You dont need good gear to play well! Just practise and listen to the song, it takes time to notice any progress but you'll always get there in the end if you've tried hard enough.
Gear!
Jackson RR3 with EMGs!
B.C. Rich KKV
Yamaha F-310 Acoustic

Digitech Bad Monkey.

Peavey Valveking 112