I'm deciding to go used, for the first time.
There are some nice deals out there. Unfortunately, I'm afraid that if i do so, I might get a really bad guitar (fret buzz, dead pickups) and the thing is that once its done, its done, there's no returns, no exchanges, etc etc...
Is it a good idea to try something used?
I find you get what you pay for. If something seems too good to be true, it tends to be. If you're looking through GumTree or Craig's List then you should be able to try if you're picking up.
Almost all my guitars were bought used off eBay, they've all been fine. So long as you're buying from a seller with a good level of positive feedback, you have nothing to worry about.

Even in the worst case scenario where it isn't as described, you're covered by eBay's buyer protection programme, and if you pay by PayPal you're covered by their protection processes as well.

I've been using eBay for over 10 years, bought & sold literally 1,000s of different things including loads of guitars and only once has there been an issue with the product I received. It was swiftly dealt with and I received a refund from the seller without even having to use the eBay/PayPal protection plans.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
I use ebay very frequently, and it's very safe. Sellers have to list exactly what they're selling. If you ask them questions and they don't answer, simply don't buy. If you get satisfactory info, and buy only to find out that it's not what the seller said it was, ebay/paypal will raise hell on the seller. There's really no way to lose, except for ignorance on your part.
Spin 'round carousel when your horse isn't screwed in.

My band:
Fractured Instinct
(For fans of Death/Groove/Prog Metal)

Ibanez RGA42E
Ibanez S420
LTD H-301
Ibanez RG520