Basically not too long ago a few of my friends asked me to join their band (that had been playing casually for about a year) as they needed a guitarist to play our schools battle of the bands, I've been playing for about 2 years now and thought it was about time i started playing in a band so i accepted. The drummer has been playing for about 3 or 4 years and the bassist has been playing for 2 but also has been learning the piano for around 14 years so he had an amazing grasp of music already and has written all the songs.
During the first practice we were just trying to get the first 'intro' song done, I could play the riff no problems but when it came to the solo I was ridiculously out of sync with the drummer and bassist. I decided that I would just go home and spend all my time trying to correct my problem and just assumed it was natural and I was just getting used to playing in a completely different situation (with a full band) to at home on my own. To my ears I got the song in perfect time with a recording of the drummer so I was ready for the next practice, unfortunately playing with the drummer was not what I was meant to be doing for the solo and in fact the solo was played completely different and i just couldn't understand how it was done (the drummer described it as 'the we are just backing you up, playing a completely different part to you')
At this point I was starting to get concerned, this wasn't just me getting used to playing with a drummer any more it was me who had the problem. I'm not sure how I'm going to get the other songs playing perfectly with the drummer and bassist in time for battle of the bands. This sucks because the other guys genuinely think we will be ready for it but i know that I'm not going to ready (its on the 6th of October)
I find it seriously concerning that I'm the only one who doesn't believe this can be done in just 2 and a half weeks.