I posted a while ago about recording and the info I got was really helpful, however, I'm looking in a slightly different direction.
I'm running cubase 5 on my laptop, and my band are after doing a few demo tracks to show to our old music teacher in Canada.
I was wondering what kind of mic would be good to get. I need one suitable for vocals, and sticking in front of a bass / guitar amp. I was also wondering how to get a semi-decent recording from cubase (I'm an amateur with the program).

thanks guys! you're always a great help!
Nat.
My favorite all purpose MIC is the Audio Technica AT4040, it will do vocals and can be used to close MIC or far MIC a guitar or bass cab. Sadly I cant help you with cubecase though, don't really know anything about it.
sm 58 - vocal
sm 57 - vocal/guitar
DI - bass (I don't recommend mics for bass)
If you want recording with a computer, you need to get an audio interface to convert analog signal into digital signal)
The gold standard used in many studio and live applications today is the Shure SM-57. This microphone has been around for years and is primarily used for miking instruments, however it's also a great vocal mic. It does not require phantom power. I can't say how well it works for bass cab applications, but they work quite nicely for guitar cabs, miking guitars and vocals.
Make sure you're EQing all of your tracks properly, first off, and invest in an interface (a box you can plug mics and guitars to) Try getting Battery too, it's a VST plugin for drums. There's also a MIDI drum sequencer built into Cubase 5, you just have to create a MIDI track, and under the plugins and shit on the left of the screen find Beat Designer. it'll be in a drop down menu. Also just watch a lot of youtube videos online on how to use the programs. Learn the whole thing

Also, Berkely School of Music has free online courses, and one of them is for EQing in ProTools, but the same principals apply in Cubase.