Hey all. I'm new to intervals and I'm trying to learn scales. I know that the intervals for Minor Pentatonic are R, Minor 3rd, 4th, 5th, Minor 7th. What is it for Major pentatonic?

Dysania:
The state of finding it hard to get out of bed in the morning.

Want that on a shirt? Check out my DistrictLines online store, Asixex

For that exact shirt, click here

ESP/LTD H-51
CRATE G-40-C
DIGITECH DF-7

It's the same thing, just from a different starting note. For example, the minor pentatonic scale shape that starts from the 5th fret is an A minor pentatonic scale. However, if you play the same shape exactly at the same frets, but play the 8th fret, the scale would be a C major scale.

This due to the fact the A is the relative minor of C.
Wait... According to Sean, I just forget about the 4 and 7. But according to felakutihimself (hereafter referred to as Fella) the shape stays the same and it depends on the note. I don't understand Fella's explanation.
"This due to the fact the A is the relative minor of C."

Okay, So... Sean. The Pentatonic Major is Root, Major 2nd, Major 3rd, Perfect 5th, and Perfect 6th. There are no half steps except for the march from Major 3rd to Perfect 5th (it's three half steps, so one step and one half.) -- I understand now. Thanks, Sean. By the way, I might soon come into enough money for your first lesson.

Dysania:

ESP/LTD H-51
CRATE G-40-C
DIGITECH DF-7

Last edited by SkittlesR at Sep 23, 2011,
I'm hoping Sean would correct if I'm wrong. But I basically meant what you said exactly.

From what I know, the relative minor of a major key is 3 semitones below it, hence, A is the relative minor of C major. So if you play the regular A minor Pentatonic scale, but start from the second note of the scale (C), You would have a C major pentatonic.
Well... Fella, it's easier the way that Sean explains.

Dysania:

ESP/LTD H-51
CRATE G-40-C
DIGITECH DF-7

Quote by SkittlesR