Good day, people of the Ultimate Guitar Recording forum,

I've seen lots of people ask the same question over, and over, and over, and over. So i figured I’d answer this question, in an explanation of how I do things and how i approach this matter.
The question I am talking about is “how do I record metal guitars on the cheap”. As i've been doing exactly that for the last 2 years, I have gained decent experience that I am more then willing to share with my fellow Djentleman. I will talk you through step by step how I approach things. Which does not have anything to do with microphones, but purely digital recorded guitars, processed with VST amp simulators and impulses.
If you want information on how to record your amplifier for metal, i'd refer you to Ola Englund's video on the matter.

1. The guitar.
The first link in the chain is of course your guitar, fresh strings help for good tone. And NEVER forget to tune, there is nothing as annoying like recording half a song, then having to re-do it all because of bad tuning

2. The interface
Second link is the interface, all this should be doing is transferring a raw guitar signal to the computer in a good quality signal, without clipping!
I use my Line 6 POD x3 Live as an interface, but this does not fit the description of Cheap. Interfaces I’d recommend are the M-Audio Fast track series. For a firewire interface, please ask someone else, because I have only used USB in my time, and have no clue about firewire.

3. The DAW
The third thing I'd like to speak about, is your DAW. DAW stands for Digital Audio Workstation. This is the software in which you record your audio. On a budget I'd recommend Reaper. It's free to use and very high quality.
Do not use audacity, it isn't up to scratch for pure recording in my honest opinion

4. The Tone
next I will talk to you about the great adventure that is tone. In this case, amp simulation VST's and Impulses.
My personal favorite so far is TSE X50.