Do you for the most part consider yourself as a bassist or a bass guitarist? Do you play as a low-end instrument or a melody instrument?

i.e.) mike dirnt is a bassist John entwhistle is a bass guitarist
Jason Newsted is a bassist Cliff Burton is a bass guitarist

Not saying one is better than the other just discussing.

For my part I'm a bassist with a few bass guitarist tendencies. I have no need for the spotlight but i like to play fun stuff.

What do you think you are?
Strauss!
"I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way." - Gustav Mahler.

Quote by AeolianWolf
absolutely what will said

Yay, my first compliment!
According to what you said I'm a bass guitarist. I hate to play the same thing twice, I'm always there improvising fills and stuff like that. Also I love playing bass solos and stuff.
Six in one half dozen in the other...

They are different words for the exact same thing: a person who plays the bass.
Suhr Custom, Flaxwood Rautia or Grosh Tele thru
HBE Medicine Bawl Wah
Analogman BiComp
Texas Two Step OD
Fulltone Ultimate Octave/Fuzz
Boss CE-2
TC Nova Delay
SLO-100, 65 London or Bogner Shiva
Ask me about any of this stuff!
I'm a musician.

El oh el.
In the bass chat:

<Jon> take the quote of me out your sig plx
<Jon> i hate seeing what i said around lol

Leader of the Bass Militia PM to join!

And now on BANDCAMP!

Officially the funniest member of the Bass Forum.
i think you're over-analyzing. what you can something doesn't change what it is.
Quote by Skeet UK
I just looked in my Oxford English Dictionary and under "Acoustic Guitar", there was your Avatar and an email address!
I know that these are all just little sub-genres under the heading of people who play bass. It's just that I saw an interview with john entwhistle where he talked about this and I wanted to know what UG thought. Just wondering.
Strauss!
"I am hitting my head against the walls, but the walls are giving way." - Gustav Mahler.

Quote by AeolianWolf