So where exactly do you guys learn your theory? Im in college right now and any music theory im studying comes from classes directed towards my major, BUT im noticing some of you have extensive theory knowledge.

Where the hell did you pick it up? I can only imagine a guitar teacher costing Hundreds, if not thousands of dollars for extensive training (given a lesson is around 30 min with $15-$30 per lesson)

Is it books? Are you guys in college? did you just pick it up from other musicians?
I learned mine in college and through guitar lessons.

Most of the theory geeks that post on here are usually either incorrect or incoherent. So I'd take a lot of what you're reading with a grain of salt.
aeolian wolf correcting me...

but mostly i just read it off of here there are many lessons and once you have a decent understadning the rest of it makes sense
12 years - self taught - led me to making/discovering a whole set of observations that I have never seen before or since, evolved those over another 5 years into a progressive full guitar based approach which became an entire Curriculum, that I now teach locally as well as to students around the world.

Best,

Sean
Quote by supersac
aeolian wolf correcting me...

lol, I wonder where he's been, he hasn't been on in a while

I've learned everything I can from this forum and random websites.

Most of the people here have gone to college for music though.

You don't NEED a teacher... but having one sure is nice.
What do you guys listen to when playing video games?
Quote by DemonicSamurai

Quote by T3hdude

Men fapping.

Sorry, didn't realize I was that loud.

I'll be leaving your closet now.
Self taught, from books mostly and with a guitar teacher I had for 2 years or so. Additionally discussing concepts on this forum has helped me develop my understanding further. I play in a lot of bands which also helps me dissect all sorts of songs from a theory perspective.
And no, Guitar Hero will not help. Even on expert. Really.