I've been a passive pickup kinda guy most of my life. Almost a year ago, I got an Ibanez that came with the LZ1 pickups. They sound surprisingly amazing on clean, but on overdrive, they sound absolutely horrendous. I've tried a ton of settings, but the sound is still bad, and I think muddy sounding would be the word. Not only that, they pick up every single noise and overpower the music with the noises. I thought it was my playing, so I turned my amp channel to clean, and played. It sounded fine. Turned on overdrive, and It sounded like I was messing up a ton...This is my first time with a guitar with bad sounding pickups. Is this because the pickup is of bad quality, or could it be something else? I'm going to upgrade the pickups soon, but I wanted to know If those aspects of my pickups are the same in all active pickups.
You can't expect to have great sounding ''shop brand '' pickups, I had the same issue with my Bc Rich's BDSM pickups.

Go for the pickup upgrade , it will only make you happier
- - - - - - - - - - -
The LZ1 semi active pickups (2x1.5 V) are the worst sounding pickups I've ever tried.
I had an Ibnanez ART with them in and they were awful, get some seymour duncan blackouts
Haha alright thanks. I'm getting the seymour duncan blackouts in a week. Just wanted to make sure it was the pickups, and not me being dumb with settings or something.
Thanks a ton Ola Englund, that is almost the exact sound of mine, it's so muddy, I can't make out half of my notes, and I just blamed it on my playing style for awhile. Def the last piece of evidence I needed. Screw next week, I'm upgrading today haha
Dude.. Ola's here on UG! Welcome!

On Topic: Yeah, I can attests to the LZ1's being odd. There's a clip of them through my Randall on my profile (Nothing But Void). I managed to coax a good sound out of them, but it was odd going from my Duncan JB to them.
Then there's this band called Slice The Cake...