I'll start by mentioning that I have no experience customizing guitars.

That said, a friend of mine has offered to sell me his 2004-05 Mexican-made Tele for $100 (standard solid body), and I was thinking it would be fun to take it on as a customization project. The trouble is, I don't know much about pickups and such (one area of gear I haven't gotten into, been focused on recording gear and pedals). I my style is mainly rooted in alternative rock (Nirvana, Smashing Pumpkins, Radiohead, Sonic Youth, My Bloody Valentine, R.E.M.), and I play both using a pick and finger style, as well as the occasional EBow.

Basically, I'm looking for suggestions as far what pickups to install or what else I might be able to do with this. The one idea I had was Jazzmaster/Jaguar style tremolo bridge. Would that work on a tele. My friend (the one who's selling it) suggested a Bigsby bridge. Any thoughts?
Gear
  • 2004 Am. Strat
  • 2004 Mex. Tele
  • 2005 Esteve Classical

• Vox Valvetronix AD15VT w/ foot switch

• Vox 847
  • EH Stereo Polychorus
  • Ibanez TS-808
  • EH Big Muff Germanium 4
  • EH Small Clone
  • EH Small Stone (USA Ver 2)
  • EH LPB-1
  • PlusEBow
Last edited by ns9977a at Sep 28, 2011,
Bogsby bridge, seymour duncan sh-6 on neck and seymour duncan rails on bridge, don't need more hotness than that in a tele
"RAWR WIRES >:O"
One more kiss... One more touch...
I miss you, wont you hug me just one last time?

Twitter!!~ Follow Re-follow :P
Thanks for the suggestion. Keep 'em coming, I'm committed to this thing now.
Gear
  • 2004 Am. Strat
  • 2004 Mex. Tele
  • 2005 Esteve Classical

• Vox Valvetronix AD15VT w/ foot switch

• Vox 847
  • EH Stereo Polychorus
  • Ibanez TS-808
  • EH Big Muff Germanium 4
  • EH Small Clone
  • EH Small Stone (USA Ver 2)
  • EH LPB-1
  • PlusEBow