Hey guys. Like the most people in this forum, I obviously want to record something. :>

Well, I've got a Marshall JVM410C. I've read a post which says how to record by using FX send plug (or whatever). I noticed that I have a FX send, and pre-amp send (or whatever the name is) plug. Now, can I basically plug my amp to my computer with one of these, and then (as far as I understood) load a VST cab (?) in eg. Reaper?

I'm really a noob on this topic, so I guess this'll help a lot (if I don't have to buy a mic, interface, stuff like that).

A link to a tutorial connected with recording by this method would be great! Thanks!
Quote by YouTube user
Hey it's Alek from Chillin in Bodom and ears a lick for bitch who can't play dicks.

If you're going to record & want decent quality, you're going to have to spend some money. If you insist on using your PC, you'll need to ensure it's a pretty high spec PC unless you're only doing really basic stuff and will also need to invest in an interface to hook up to it.

You'll also need all the software required for recording, Reaper is an example of a DAW (Digital Audio Workstation) which can be used for free, although you are supposed to pay for it and you'll also need another package to programme drums on (assuming you want to include them).

Alternatively you can get a multitracker as your DAW which will do everything in a single unit. Some even include a built in drum machine so can do that for you as well. For a newbie to recording, this is definitely the simpler way to get going, and they can be purchased for a reasonable price, especially if you get a 2nd hand one from eBay or somewhere similar.

I'd recommend looking at the 8/16/24 track units made by Tascam, Zoom, Fostex and Boss. Zoom and Fostex are probably the simplest for a beginner, but they are all more than capable of matching anything a typical home PC setup can produce.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2