( bands like meshuggah, periphery, textures, after the burial)

Hi, I'm gabe I love djent, but Im having troubles with playing djenty music.
My drummer is a crazy djent drummer who can do all those polyrhythms and grooves like a boss. (lol)
I just can't wrap my head around the subject though, Ive been playing for almost 5 years now and recently just got into djent.
Im more of a melodic death metal/ metalcore kinda of guy, Im working on complex rhythms but i still don't know exactly how to " djent" Can you guys help me out?
Or any tips you guys can give?

Also how do I get a Djent tone out of my 100 watt tube amp? Iv'e searched on how to get a " djent" tone, I found people saying this all over the internet ------> " cut of most bass below 200Hz for a tight low end, a slight boost around 800hz for clarity, and a noticeable boost around 1.6Khz to emphasize pick attack. "
But I don't have a EQ sooo ? should I get one to achieve a Djent tone?
I only use my krank Revolution 1 with a rivera cab with celastion t-75s, I play in drop d should I tune lower to achieve a djent tone?
I play with a lot of gain, and Crisp clean tube distortion should I buy a tube screamer to help with my tone?
Or a noise suppressor, and eq?

Sorry if im acting like a noob I Just recently got into this genre and im trying hard to understand, I just need some advice on this.
Well most of those bands play in Drop B or A#. That's as much help as i can give on the subject though XD.
Quote by Switcheffect525
Well most of those bands play in Drop B or A#. That's as much help as i can give on the subject though XD.

Drop A# isn't br00talz enough for djent

Seriously though, Periphery plays 7 string guitars in drop G# IIRC, and Meshuggah and After the Burial both play 8 string guitars. So TS, you may want to look into purchasing a 7 or 8 string guitar if you plan on learning songs by those bands, as well as most other bands in the genre.
Originally Posted by strat0blaster