Hi,

Just curious on something. I have been learning guitar for 2 years but not that attentive. Just wondering if I had started practicing all chords would make me a better player now. I know how to play guitar from someone who taught me how to play a song with simple chords. I learned G-Em-C-D for Last Kiss of Pear Jam.

Need your thoughts maybe this will help also to those who are starting to learn playing guitar.

Thanks.
Last edited by music2jam at Sep 28, 2011,
This is going to all be opinion and personal preference, but I believe you need to learn the chords and then use simple three or four chord songs to practice changing from one chord to another. Then, you can start to learn the barre chords to add some variety and ease of changing chords into the mix.

Learning will definitely get boring if you don't incorporate some songs into your practice routine though.
Gear:
Fender Strat
Epi Joe Pass Signature
Epi LP Plus Top
Jackson Dinky
Fender Hot Rod Deville 212
i learned the usual open chords then started playing songs or riffs from bands that had single note rhythms, then learnt more chords to play the rest of the song
Too Many Religious People And Not Enough Lions
I started by learning to read out of the Berklee Modern Method for Guitar book. After a couple of months, (once I had started to develop proper technique), my teacher began showing me how to play some of my favorite songs, in addition to the book.
I'd like to help, but not as much as I'd like not to.

"To be successful, you need to be a good musician. To be popular, you just need to be fashionable" - Ritchie Blackmore
Haha, i learned 3 chords too. G,D and A. Then i learned Twist and Shout and Mull of Kintyre. Then learned the other open position chords and then barres and stuff.
G(g)od was like: "Make you an ark of gopher wood; rooms shall you make in the ark, and shall pitch it within and without with pitch."

And i was like: "What's gopher wood?"