Hello, I am new to the whole recording deal, and I would like to know what you need to start off. I am trying to keep a budget of under 300. So if you could please list the items I would need, and examples. i also would like to know if there is any free drum software that is good, and can produce sounds for metal like Breaking Benjamin, Avenged Sevenfold, etc. Also what kind of software I would need.
Thank you.
There are 2 initial choices - software or multitracker.

With software, there are free options (primarily Reaper) and you'll need an interface to hook up to your PC. You'll also need a fairly high spec PC if you want to do more than just basic recordings. There is also drum programming software out there.

With multitrackers, you get everything the software can do in a single unit, purpose built for the job so you aren't relying on your PC for anything. Some even have drum machines built in so you wouldn't need separate equipment for this. You can get some extremely high spec kit on the used market for less than 300 if you're talking British Pounds, I don't know how this compares with currency & prices in other countries.

Multitrackers are the easiest option to get started with, but it's down to preference between them and software really. You'd have to look at both to see which suits you best.
Gibson LP Traditional, LP GT, LP Studio, SG Standard x2
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm >TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30
Marshall TSL602
Jet City JCA22H
My SoundCloud
Last edited by GaryBillington at Sep 28, 2011,
Do a search on ebay for multitrackers made by companies like Zoom, Tascam, Fostex, Boss & Korg. In the advanced search options you can select completed listings, so you'll be able to see how much they've been selling for and judge what sort of kit you can afford.