So I've been playing guitar for a few years now and I like it but its impossible to find bands. I just started at a new school and I figured I would find lots of people to form a band with but they all playing guitar! Well except for one drummer. Anyways I feel at this point its useless to try and form a band playing guitar. I'm alright, but nothing that would impress people enough that they would want me in their band. So I've decided to switch to bass, because frankly I just want to find a band to play in part time.

SO I KNOW NOTHING ABOUT LOOKING FOR BASSES! I don't know what brands are popular, or good. What sorta things to look for sound wise, or what amps are even good. Also what sort of pedals do bassists normally use for distortion, fuzz? I've played my brothers squirer starter bass a lot and its good, but seems a bit cheap. Any recommendations? I play rock music of all sorts, generally on the harder side. Any advice would be really helpful, thanks!!
I have an Epiphone Thunderbird which is fairly cheap and has a great sound, also looks great on stage, Would highly recommend it
I'd recommend an ESP LTD, they're quite good. But you could go for a Squier Vintage Modified series, I hear they're good.
Probably one of the more respected bass brands would be Rickenbacher. Not sure about amps, i use a guitar amp, myself.
wow, it's Rickenbacker, and it's like $3000

Squier P bass, good 200 watt bass amp, used for both

You don't need pedals to learn
1) What kind of budget do you have to work with? Both for a bass and an amp.

2) Where are you located? Do you have a good local store you can try basses out at, or are you stuck ordering online?

3) Have a look in the FAQ at the top of the forum for starter basses, its a good jumping off point. After answering questions 1 and 2 we can help narrow things down for you with some suggestions.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
What sort of budget are you looking in?

Lets just pretend a grand for the whole thing.