Basically I'm new to the solo guitar stuff, so far i've only played rhythm guitar and acoustic with either chords or reading off tabs. im looking into more complicated stuff than that, my question is:

if a song is in C and the rhythm guitar plays just the simple 4/4 with four bars of chords lets say C, Am, G, D; would the solo guitar just play solo's from (lets say) major scale in C key and in no other keys?

thanks.
Over the classic C-Am-G-D key you could play the C major scale all the way or you can switch scale each time you change the chord. You can also use modes. There are endless possibilities.
C major is all you need for that chord progression.
However, you don't need to reveal all notes in the scale at first, so you can use major pentatonic too.
If you dont mind learning some music theory, you could check out something called "modes".
A guy called Walliman on YouTube explains it pretty well.
If you know already what it is, then you could change between using C ionian, C lydian, C Mixolydian. It can make a solo a bit more intresting.
Not feeling limited to scales is a good thing. Just play what you think sound good.
Quote by Adriatic
Basically I'm new to the solo guitar stuff, so far i've only played rhythm guitar and acoustic with either chords or reading off tabs. im looking into more complicated stuff than that, my question is:

if a song is in C and the rhythm guitar plays just the simple 4/4 with four bars of chords lets say C, Am, G, D; would the solo guitar just play solo's from (lets say) major scale in C key and in no other keys?

thanks.

The given example is a bit clumsy because you have a D, which contains tones D, A and F#. C major scale contains tones D and A, but it has an F instead of F#, so you could play solo in C major over that progression but you'd have to be careful of note selection over D chord. You can just play as if it's a C major scale, but use F# instead of F (that would be the tones of G major then).