hi
ive been playing electric guitar for about a year now and i have a problem with downpicking
a couple of months ago i started learning master of puppets by metallica, including the solo, and in the rhythm parts i cant go faster than 80% speed (on a good day, after i warmed up, maybe 85)
so i decided to let it go and return to it later
a week ago guitar world released video lessons by trivium, one of which was how to play "inception of the end"
heres the video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zTJ7s2sr6o
as you can see the first part of the intro/verse riff is down picked, but more importantly the pre-chorus riff is fast and entirely down-picked.
here i can only get to 85% and i still sometimes miss a note
is there a way to improve my down-picking speed?
while i was learning master of puppets i did try just playing it again and again but it didnt really help
thanks and sorry for the bad english
Take it right back to a slow speed, something like half the original speed (playing with a metronome) and just gradually build up, it can be frustrating but that's the path I had to take
what minute and second do you mean ?
im not near a guitar right now.. but i bet you can alternate pick everything..

btw- as unrelated advice, those guys have terrible terrible technique, Matt´s technique is specially painful to watch.. so i wouldnt take hints from them regarding technique..
Quote by Slashiepie
btw- as unrelated advice, those guys have terrible terrible technique, Matt´s technique is specially painful to watch.. so i wouldnt take hints from them regarding technique..

I don't see why when it comes to picking in that video, they're both rhythmically spot on, relaxed, economical, no crazy angles going on with any of their joints... I wouldn't personally go with Matt's tremolo picking technique but apart from that I think they're pretty damn good.
R.I.P. My Signature. Lost to us in the great Signature Massacre of 2014.

Quote by Master Foo