i started playing bass over a year ago but just bought an electric guitar and although it sounded awesome when i played it in the shop through a fender tube amp it just didnt have that oomph when i plugged it into my axl standard 15b (i wonder why???) and was wondering whether it would be better to buy a tube amp or a multi effects prosessor given that i have under £200 to spend
what type(s) of music will you be playing? you can get quite nice low wattage tube amps for very little cash nowadays, but they tend to be one-trick ponies. EDIT: do you remember which fender tube amp you were plugged into? and if so, was that the perfect tone you're after?
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3
Presumably because the CCF (Combined Corksniffing Forces) of MLP and Gibson forums would rise up against them, plunging the land into war.

Quote by T00DEEPBLUE
Et tu, br00tz?
Multi-effects processors and pedals can come close to sounding like tube amps, but they will never sound exactly like it. A tube amp has a certain soul to it that can't be replicated digitally. There are some pretty good imitations, but honestly, nothing is like the real thing.

I went through pedals left and right until I picked up my first real tube amp. It's a whole different world of sound. Maybe save up a little more until you can pick up something like a Fender Blues Jr? They're relatively cheap as far as tube amps go, and great tone!
Current Gear:
2002 Gibson Les Paul Standard
'57 AVRI Fender Stratocaster