Sorry for the painfully generic title,

Basically, i do music tech at college, and they told us to form make shift bands, and cos i didnt have my guitar on me i blagged a diy fretless encore bass.

And despite its crapness, i really enjoyed playing it.

This has made me want a bass, and i know from looking on ebay i want an SG style bass of some sort, but this is beside the point.

Seeing as i know what bass i want, i need some help with amps.

Cos im a guitarist, im a complete noob with basses and bass amps.

Whats the best amp you recon i could get for about £150?

I'd like it to be tube, as the amp i was using in music was tube and sounded alright, and versatility would be good. Though im mainly a classic rock player so keep that in mind. People who inspire me as far as bass is concerned would be geezer butler and john paul jones.

Im fine to buy second hand, and a combo is fine.

Ideas?

Cheers!
Quote by Down&Out
I'd like it to be tube

You can forget that right now. Tube bass amps are relatively uncommon, and generally very very expensive. Most bass amps are SS or hybrids, and anything and everything in your price range is going to be SS.

Keep your eye out for used gear, I'd recommend trying to find a practice amp by Peavey, Ashdown, or Kustom in your budget.
Composite Aficionado

Spector and Markbass
I wouldn't say tube bass amps are relatively uncommon (I mean what's more common than an SVT?), but they are nonexistent for 150 pounds.

For people in the US I recommend used peavey and carvin most of the time. That might be a bit more pricey on your end, so I'd look for ashdown as Tostitos has mentioned or Trace Elliot. I know very little about pricing over there, but both companies have decent lower end amps that pop up used pretty often. We'll have to wait for some UK bass players to give better advice.
Quote by dullsilver_mike