Poll: Vote
Poll Options
View poll results: Vote
It is digital or discrete
11 9%
It is analog or continuous
34 27%
It is digital, but can have analog characteristics (or vice versa)
10 8%
Other
8 6%
Nig, how the fuk I'm supposed to know?!
63 50%
Voters: 126.
Page 1 of 2
Sorry about the lame title of this thread. It's hard to use words like Universe or Reality without it sounding like some introduction to stoner philosophy. But here's the topic of this thread.

Do you think the universe, reality, and all the good stuff, is digital or analog? Discrete or continuous?

Can't say I'm an expert on quantum mechanics or digital physics, but I'm interested to see debate this thread might stir up.

Wiki article: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_physics
Last edited by The Madcap at Oct 2, 2011,
It's all a computer simulation.
Quote by Vornik
Thanks for the advice. I'm going to put it, along with your other advice, into a book, the pages of which I will then use to wipe my ass.
When I think of the minute details of the universe, I see it being very "digital".

Like you, I'm not well grounded in any topic on the matter (as much as I'd like to be), but when I think of evolution, or cosmic material forming/bonding, etc. I think of it as a very 1s and 0s kind of ordeal. At its simplest roots, everything is that simple, in my eyes. And, by simple, I mean complex to an ungodly level (ba dum pun).
Voted 3rd Friendliest User of UG 2010

BUILD A TIME MACHINE, AND JERK OFF IN IT, AND SEND IT TO HITLER!

Saxo-Walrus

Steam & PSN ID: Panopticon20
I believe it is cotton candy.
--------------╯╰--------------
A SIGNATURE.
--------------╮╭--------------
Does digital physics mean that it is being computed by a digital device, or can it just mean that the universe can be described and calculated as if it were digital?

I think it is digital in nature, but I can't know if it is actually digital or not. I don't know anything about this subject though.
Quote by Wiki