I am going to start my journey for a bass and amp soon and I was wondering if you guys could tell me what is good and what I should avoid and if you have any tips and whatnot.

I am currently renting a bass from my local music shop (it's a Yamaha RBX170) and an amp ( http://tinyurl.com/44e9ega ). I have been playing for about 3 months and I'd like play in a band soon.

I have played a Squier P bass with a Fender Rumble 15 amp at a hangout place in my town and I liked the Pbass more than the RBX170 that I am renting (the P bass needs new string though). The amp seemed to be loud enough when playing with a loud drummer and a guitarist, but the area we were playing in wasn't very large.

My budget is at the most $600, but I'd like to spend less than that if possible. I have looked around on craigslist and other places for used stuff around where I live but I couldn't find anything that wasn't overpriced or was interesting to me. I play mostly rock right now, but I'd like to learn some jazz and metal (maybe), so the bass and amp would have to be versatile. I want 4 strings, but I might try out a 5 or 6 string.

I also need some cables. If I buy a pedal, what do I need for it to work? Are there any accessories I should get (string winder, etc.)? I heard you can haggle the price of whatever lower sometimes. How would I go about doing that?

I know I actually have to go and try stuff to so if I am going to like it.