Greetings members of Ultimate Guitar.

I recently discovered that one of my favorite guitarists has perfect pitch and out of curiosity I looked up what it meant and couldn't believe that such a uncanny skill existed.

So I was wondering, is perfect pitch something that can be taught? Has anyone as of yet taught themselves perfect pitch and if so by what methods?

Also if anyone here does have perfect pitch, is there any way for you to describe what your listening to when you hear a note? I'm starting to wonder if theres something that people with perfect pitch pay attention to that normal people with relative pitch don't.

What do you guys know about perfect/absoloute pitch?
I kinda have perfect pitch. Not 100% accurate, but let say I hear a power chord in a song, I immediately know what chord it is. I could be wrong by max 1-2 semitones, I never mistake an A for a D or something.

How do I do it? There's no secret: I have been learning songs by ear for 5 years. I don't use tabs except for some very fast parts that I can't figure out.
It depends, some people have spent a great deal of time teaching themselves how to identify certain pitches, some people are just born with it ( Bill bailey comes to mind )

I myself however find it difficult apart from a few notes and chords which are distinct in that playing guitar ( For quite some time ) usually gives people the uncanny ability to recognize say the note E,

I also read a interview in which Bill bailey said that ever since he was young he was even able to recognize what notes engines and washing machines were making.

Pretty cool if you ask me
Equipment -

PRS Custom 24
Jackson Pro Series RR3
Fender FM212 DSP 100 Watt
Korg AX 3000G
i'm not sure, But, I can tune my guitar perfectly without using a tuner and without it already being in tune(I've done it many times). I'm not quite sure how I do it really though.