A friend of mine in Canada recently had to sell her only guitar which was an Ibanez of some kind, and I'd like to try to replace it for her for Christmas. Her favorite guitar is the Ibanez JEM/UV in white with gold hardware. I was planning to try to get her favorite guitar but it's doubtful that I'll be able to save that much in that short a time. I'm planning to get a few of her friends together and maybe get something between us to increase the funds available. Right now we're probably looking at about $500 in Canadian dollars but this will hopefully increase. Doesn't really matter if it's used so long as it's in a decent condition.

Anyway I play a little but I'm primarily a bassist and don't know a whole lot about Ibanez guitars yet. I'd build one for her if I didn't think we'd get huge customs charges, and if we can't get something similar soon enough I might consider doing that later anyway. Can anyone suggest something similar that we can take a look at? Obviously other Ibanez guitars in general would be similar, but it'd be helpful to have a couple of specific models in mind if possible. Thanks in advance.
Quote by FatalGear41
Bassists don't hover on the forum day and night like guitarists. We've got lives to lead, music to play and whiskey to drink.

Quote by Ziphoblat
I'd rather go at my hands with a hacksaw than play lead guitar, and I'm only slightly exaggerating.
Are you looking at new guitars only? If so, I'd look at the Ibanez Premium line. They're made in Indonesia, but they're very nice guitars, and not too expensive either.

If you can go used, I'd try to find an Ibanez Prestige of some kind. You should be able to find one somewhere around your budget in good condition. They're Japanese made, and a step above the Premiums. Some of the Prestige models are pretty similar to the JEM, specs wise too.
Used is fine. Thanks I'll check them out.

Anyone know what the customs charges between Canada and the US are like btw?
Quote by FatalGear41