Recorders, recommend me some good monitors!

Budget, $300.

Thinking of the samson studio GT as its a soundcard too, not too fussed about 24 bit data needed to go in as I have a tascam for that.

anyone seen the samson GT / Studio dock / Media one? Can anyone vouch for their quality?
Squier Classic Vibe Custom
Vox Pathfinder 15R
Fender Jazz Bass
I have KRK Rokit 5's. They're supposedly really good for the price, but I'm no expert.
NOW PART OF THE

Quote by Robchappers
You are epic my friend ;-)
Quote by RU Experienced?
At this point I'd be more surprised if you found me a Christian children's entertainer that didn't sodomize and eat kids.
In the past I've done all the mixing on shitty PC speakers, and to be fair, a few of my mixes have translated pretty good, some are shockers... WAY too much bass compensation etc.

If the samsons were a 5" monitor, I'd snap them up as they come with sonar too.

My mate runs m-audio 5's. If things were cheaper here in Oz, I'd consider those for sure and a fastrack sound card too.

They have rockit 5 and 6 were I teach, the rocket 6 seem really exagerated on the bass, we spent ages trying to calm down an acoustic guitar that was booming!
Vox Pathfinder 15R
Fender Jazz Bass
Quote by jer-bear5212

Pretty sure those are the ones with the 'gaming speakers' reputation... wouldn't be my choice if they are. Either way, I wouldn't go cheaper than KRK Rokit 5's.

Also, I have Rokit 6's and they hype the low end a tiny bit, but the rest of their spectrum is much better than the others in this price range - the 6's (and moreso the 8's) also have a much flatter frequency response than the 5's.

Either way, you learn the speakers you use - if you think they're too bassy, just compensate by mixing with less bass... no speaker design is perfect, and listening on different systems before mixdown allows you to correct any final misjudgements based on your main system not being ideal.
Hey, look. Sigs are back.