hey im sorry if this is the wrong section but im a noob to this forum and am in need of help asap

i just bought a fender john 5 telecaster, the one with the enforcer and the twisted tele, the problem i am having is excessive noise/hum. the noise is there constantly and then gets louder when i turn the volume nobs off, irrespective of what pick up i select.

the noise then disappears when i touch any of the stings, the nobs or the metal scratchplate.

its not a problem with my leads or amp i have checked them,

can anyone help me as to how i can stop this from happeneing, i really have no idea

any help would be greatfully recieved.
Last edited by sonicst at Oct 3, 2011,
There is an earth wire going between the electronics (normally the back of a pot) and the bridge - it's broken.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band
Sounds like a grounding issue...
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Highway One Telecaster
Dean Evo
Mesa F-50
Laney GH50L
Vox AC30 C2
Ampeg V2
pedals
is it an easy fix? i like like 30 miles from any decent techs and im a bit low on cash atm
You'll probably need to remove the strings and bridge. I had the exact same problem with a MIM Tele. The ground wire wasn't properly touching the bridge underneath. There was no solder, it was just a pressure contact.
Pull off the bridge and locate the wire. It will head off towards the cavity through a small hole finally being soldered to the back of a pot housing. Replace it.
Gilchrist custom
Yamaha SBG500
Telecasters
Randall RM100 & RM20
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Atomic Amplifire
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100

Cathbard Amplification
My band