Hi guys

Im just learning to play, maybe 6 weeeks in and im struggling to get my mind to do 2 different things. Ie im trying to keep playing 'non stop' even if i misplace some notes on a chord but my mind keeps wanting me to stop while i change chords lol

Im getting ok with the basic chords but even though i know the song im trying to play really well im struggling to get it sounding similar to the actual record. So my question is do you know of any good youtube vids or any tips to help get me keeping the rhythm and changing chords. Or even just beginners advice on playing?

Thanks guys : )
Pretty much the best advice I can give you is keep playing, keep practicing constantly. There's no easy way, you have to work. Hopefully that work is fun and gratifying.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192
Mojave, Sennheiser, AKG, EV etc mics
Focusrite ISA828 pres
Waves Mercury
Random Rack Gear

65 Deluxe Reverb
PRS CE 22
American Standard Strat
Taylor 712
with changing chords,
just anticipate what chord you're going to play next before you strum
also practicing the chord shape transition until your hand gets comfortable is helpful

and practice practice practice.
Its always annoying the first few weeks playing guitar. I learned four chords that can be played to pretty much any modern song, and just practised them. Once you can easily play those chords, learning other chords is a doddle because your fingers will be nice and strong.

It is always good to remember that a single strum of unfretted sounds fine whilst your're changing chords, but it won't sound like the song you're trying to play because of it.

Don't worry though. In a few more weeks you'll be playing chords easily.
Fuck the system - Use non-standard tunings!

"Now the guitar is no more than a cowbell, so easy to play, that there is no stable lad who is not a musician on the guitar" Inquisitor Covarrubias 1611