Hey! I'm a beginner, and I've noticed that the 5th and 6th strings do not play the same note when played open, and when fretted at the 12th. What could the problem be? The guitar is only about 6 months old!

I've just switched from using light gauge strings to mediums. Could that be the problem?
Yes. With acoustics, you can't really set the intonation, since it's set by your bridge saddle, which is molded, or carved. So the only other way to affect intonation is by neck relief, so you might have to tighten the truss rod a tad. Heavier strings will pull on the neck more, thus raising the action, changing the intonation.
lol well the 5th and 6th strings should not play the same note when struck open.

The only two notes that should be identical when you strum them open are the 1st string and the 6th string.

If they are not, then they are not tuned correctly. Simple. Not an intonation issue.
Treble>Epiphone Prophecy EX - MXR micro Amp - MXR Blue Box - MXR Fullbore - MXR Noise Clamp - Vox AD30VT
Bass>Ibanez BTB505 - MXR Blowtorch - MXR D.I. - Peavey MaxBass 700 - Peavey TVX410
Quote by Vypor
lol well the 5th and 6th strings should not play the same note when struck open.

The only two notes that should be identical when you strum them open are the 1st string and the 6th string.

If they are not, then they are not tuned correctly. Simple. Not an intonation issue.

I think he means the 5th and 6th opens are not the same as the 5th and 6th 12th fret, respectively...

Its harder to get this fixed on an acoustic. Try going back to the former strings and see if that fixes it. If it does then the new strings are the issue.. if not you may want to have it taken to a guitar tech for a proper inspection.